When you throw caution to the wind!

Sitting at my computer screen last May I came across an email that would lead to the adventure of a lifetime.

The email announced the opening of early registration for the Limelight Sessions, a retreat “all about encouraging you along your own path of self-discovery,” read the announcement from organizer Karen Walrond.

Karen Walrond, the creative guru behind the Limelight Retreats.

Karen Walrond, the creative guru behind the Limelight Retreats.

Excitement is an understatement for the feelings I experienced that day. Born under the zodiac sign Libra it is common for me to weigh the options before making a decision, and more times than not the decision is to forgo the activity. Conservative would be an accurate assessment in most instances. Not this time.

Over the last five years I have experienced the two most traumatizing events in my life – the loss of both my parents. Reconstructing my life after this has been challenging, and with the death of my Dad still very fresh I threw caution to the wind and registered for the Limelight Sessions.

Liming during the retreat

Liming during the retreat

I’m not twenty, or thirty-something a time when you are more apt to live life a little on the edge, but I am a woman who seeks to live every day to its fullest. So over the next six months I finalized my plans to fly to Houston for my birthday week in October.

This journey was also a unique experience for me because I didn’t know anyone attending and while I had followed Karen’s Chookooloonks blog for a number of years I didn’t really know her either. I placed my decision in God’s hand realizing that all things come through him and he has a plan for us all.

The plan he had in place for me was AWESOME! I met women from all various parts of the U.S. with diverse jobs and experiences. Over the course of two days twenty-five pea chicks gathered and shared leaving as fine Peacocks ready to strut our stuff.

Ladies sharing and getting to know one another.

Ladies sharing and getting to know one another.

This post and the previous entries this week are only the beginning of my renewed commitment to this space and the journey that is my future. I hope you’ll join me and share your thoughts in the comments below.

Until we meet again I wish you peace and blessings!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

